Directorate Change

RNS Number : 5054A
Smith (DS) PLC
29 May 2019

DS Smith Plc

Directorate Term

29 May 2019

DS Smith Plc today announces that Gareth Davis' term as Chairman has been extended to 3 January 2021, at which point he will have served nine years as chair, having originally joined the Board as a non-executive director on 1 June 2010. It is expected that he will then retire from the Board in January 2021.

Given the recently announced changes to the composition of the Board, with Jonathan Nicholls to retire as Senior Independent Director and Audit Chair after the Company's AGM in September 2019 and Rupert Soames and David Robbie respectively taking on those roles, the Board are pleased that Gareth will remain in post through to the end of his nine years as Chairman. His presence will provide continuity through a period of structured change for the Board.

A recruitment process for Gareth's replacement will be started at the appropriate time.

Gareth Davis, Chairman, said:

"I have thoroughly enjoyed my time on the Board and look forward to continuing to contribute to the development of the Company through its next exciting chapter."



Iain Simm

Group General Counsel and Company Secretary



DS Smith Plc                                                                    +44 (0)20 7756 1800



Hugo Fisher, Group Communications Director

Rachel Stevens, Investor Relations Director



Greg Dawson, Corporate Affairs Director


This information is provided by RNS, the news service of the London Stock Exchange. RNS is approved by the Financial Conduct Authority to act as a Primary Information Provider in the United Kingdom. Terms and conditions relating to the use and distribution of this information may apply. For further information, please contact or visit