Directorate Change

RNS Number : 8959V
Smith (DS) PLC
11 April 2019

DS Smith Plc

Directorate changes  

11 April 2019

DS Smith Plc today announces that Jonathan Nicholls will retire from the Board with effect from the conclusion of the 2019 AGM on 3 September. It also announces the appointment with effect from 11 April 2019 of David Robbie to the Company's Board as a Non-Executive Director. He will also join the Audit Committee, the Nomination Committee and the Remuneration Committee of the Board and will become Chairman of the Audit Committee upon Jonathan Nicholls' retirement. At that time Rupert Soames will become Senior Independent Director.

David is currently a non-executive director and audit committee chair of the FTSE 250 transport company FirstGroup PLC. Prior to that he served as finance director of can-maker Rexam PLC, before its £4.3 billion acquisition by the NYSE listed, Ball Corporation, in 2016. Prior to his role at Rexam, David served in senior finance roles at BTR plc before becoming Group Finance Director at CMG plc in 2000 and then Chief Financial Officer at Royal P&O Nedloyd N.V. in 2004. He served as a Non-Executive Director of the BBC between 2006 and 2010 and as Chairman of their Audit Committee. David qualified as a Chartered Accountant at KPMG.

Commenting on Jonathan's retirement and David's appointment, Gareth Davis, Chairman, said:

"On behalf of the Board and the Company, I would like to thank Jonathan for his exemplary contribution and commitment to the Board and the Company during his tenure, a period in which the Company has delivered consistent growth, created sustained value for shareholders and entered the FTSE 100. The Board would like to wish Jonathan continued success in the future.

At the same time I welcome and look forward to working with David on the DS Smith Board and to gaining the benefit of his financial, international, strategic and corporate finance experience. I am sure that he will make a very positive contribution.

I am also delighted to confirm Rupert Soames' appointment as Senior Independent Director from the close of the 2019 AGM. Rupert's considerable international and executive experience will be a great asset to the Board in that role."

There is no further information to disclose in relation to David Robbie's appointment in accordance with LR 9.6.13.



Iain Simm

Group General Counsel and Company Secretary



DS Smith Plc                                                                    +44 (0)20 7756 1800



Hugo Fisher, Group Communications Director

Rachel Stevens, Investor Relations Director



Greg Dawson, Corporate Affairs Director


This information is provided by RNS, the news service of the London Stock Exchange. RNS is approved by the Financial Conduct Authority to act as a Primary Information Provider in the United Kingdom. Terms and conditions relating to the use and distribution of this information may apply. For further information, please contact or visit