Directorate Change

RNS Number : 8230P
Smith (DS) PLC
13 February 2019

DS Smith Plc

Non-Executive Director appointment

13 February 2019

DS Smith Plc today announces the appointment with effect from 1 March 2019 of Rupert Soames to the Company's Board as a Non-Executive Director. He will also join the Audit Committee, the Nomination Committee and the Remuneration Committee of the Board.

Rupert is currently Group Chief Executive Officer at Serco Group plc and was previously Chief Executive at Aggreko plc, and Chief Executive of Misys plc Banking and Securities Division. Until July 2016 Rupert was also Senior Independent Director of Electrocomponents plc and a member of their Remuneration, Nomination and Audit Committees.

Rupert has a wealth of international operational experience as well as hands on experience of the UK plc environment.

Commenting on Rupert's appointment, Gareth Davis, Chairman, said:

"I look forward to working with Rupert on the DS Smith Board and to gaining the benefit of both his operational and corporate experience. I am sure that he will make a very positive contribution."

There is no further information to disclose in accordance with LR 9.6.13.



Iain Simm

Group General Counsel and Company Secretary



DS Smith Plc                                                                    +44 (0)20 7756 1800



Hugo Fisher, Group Communications Director

Rachel Stevens, Investor Relations Director



Greg Dawson, Corporate Affairs Director


This information is provided by RNS, the news service of the London Stock Exchange. RNS is approved by the Financial Conduct Authority to act as a Primary Information Provider in the United Kingdom. Terms and conditions relating to the use and distribution of this information may apply. For further information, please contact or visit