Rupert Soames Joins DS Smith as Non-Executive Director

New board member to complement existing capabilities at British-based sustainable packaging company.

London, 13 February 2019: DS Smith plc, the leading sustainable packaging company, today announced the appointment of Rupert Soames to the Company’s Board as a Non-Executive Director with effect from [1 March 2019].

Rupert is currently Group Chief Executive Officer at Serco Group plc, the British headquartered international provider of public services which he joined in 2014. He was previously Chief Executive at Aggreko plc, a leading provider of mobile modular power, temperature control and energy services and Chief Executive of Misys plc Banking and Securities Division. Until July 2016, Rupert served as the Senior Independent Director of Electrocomponents plc and a member of its Remuneration, Nomination and Audit Committees.

Rupert has a wealth of international operational experience, as well as hands on experience of the UK plc environment. In addition to joining DS Smith’s Board, he will also join the Audit Committee, the Nomination Committee and the Remuneration Committee of the Board.

Gareth Davis, Chairman of DS Smith commented: "I look forward to working with Rupert on the DS Smith Board and to gaining the benefit of both his operational and corporate experience. I am sure that he will make a very positive contribution."

Commenting on his appointment, Rupert said:

DS Smith is a dynamic international business with a real focus on sustainable growth within an evolving manufacturing and e-commerce landscape. I look forward to joining the Board at this exciting time.